The Darebin Mayor’s Writing Awards is an annual award for writers who live, work or study in Darebin. This award acknowledges the literary skills of local people and recognises Darebin’s creative community.


Each year, the Mayor's Writing Awards celebrates the many talented writers living, working and studying in Darebin.

This year, the winner of the Mayor's Writing Awards in first place is Isabella Battersby.

The panel of expert judges, including Sian Prior, Susan Johnston and Adolfo Aranjuez, awarded Ms Battersby the $2000 prize for her distinctive piece 'Bird'. 

The second prize of $1000 was awarded to Jasmine Anoushian for 'You Could Be Here to see the World Change'. This careful account of loss uses rhythm and repetition to capture a life in free fall.

Two pieces also received $500 highly commended prizes – 'In the Walls' by Bradley David and 'Lens Cap' of History by Rowan Williams.

This year’s theme was Change, with more than 175 entries received incorporating the theme into short stories, poems, song lyrics and non-fiction with 1200 words or less.

The winning works can be read in n-SCRIBE 15, Darebin’s own journal for writers who live, work or study in the City of Darebin.  Additionally, selected works will be available online at darebinarts.com.au

Darebin Council will soon announce the details of the Mayor’s Writing Awards for Young People, with categories for primary and secondary school students with cash and book voucher prizes. Details will be announced soon at darebinarts.com.au



Facebook icon


n-SCRIBE is an arts and literary journal for writers and readers in the Northern suburbs.

Led by a working group of writers and editors, n-SCRIBE publishes fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short story, journalism, creative non-fiction, memoir and images, once a year. We aim to uncover, celebrate and stimulate writing, arts and reading culture.

Visit Darebin Arts for more details.

Applications are open to those who live, work, play or study in the northern suburbs. Work is selected for publication by the working group through an open, blind submission process. n-SCRIBE is a free publication.