Fairfield and Alphington have a rich history. The Weslyan chapel built in 1858 (today’s Uniting Church) and a two story bluestone shop (756-8 Heidelberg Rd) are the oldest buildings in the Northcote/Heidelberg area.
- The Centenary Dairy in Alphington, started in 1934 when George and Agnes Cutts built a dairy and milk bar. It remained in the family until it closed in the 1980s.
- In 1854 130 plots were offered for sale at "Alphington Village" estate, named after William Manning's home town in Devon, England.
- St Paul's Anglican Church was established on 9 August 1885 at the corner of Station Street and Railway Place. The church started the first school in Fairfield in 1885. That school was subsequently managed by the State government and went on to become Fairfield Primary School.
- John Adams opened a general store in Alphington and became the first postmaster in 1858.
- In 1919 the Australian Paper and Pulp Co. mill was established becoming the largest industrial complex in the district.
Find out more at: